If you plan on bringing your vehicle to the state, keep in mind that the California Department of Motor Vehicleshas specific rules for new residents who want to register their out-of-state vehicles in the state.
In fact, you vehicle can be subject to California registration upon date of entry. The rule of thumb is to pay the necessary fees within 20 days of the vehicles entry into the state. This should be complied in order to avoid penalties.
You will also need the following:
- Submit an Application for Title or Registration (REG 343)
- Submit out-of-state registration certificate
- Submit Verification of Vehicle (REG 31)
- Necessary Fees
You may also need to provide the following in addition to those listed above:
- A smog certificate
- A weight certificate (commercial vehicles like pickup trucks may require this)
- Out-of-state license plates
- A Lien Satisfied/Legal Owner/Title Holder Release (REG 166)
- A Permanent Trailer Identification Application/Certification (REG 4017)
- A Vehicle/Vessel Transfer and Reassignment Form (REG 262)
- A Statement of Facts (REG 256)
- A Declaration of Gross Vehicle/Combined Gross Vehicle Weight (REG 4008)
Important Things to Keep In Mind
If you want to avoid being slapped with a fine and other penalties, it’s important to be aware of all the rules and processes. Here are some of those that you must keep in mind:
- You have to register your vehicle in California. The good thing is you don’t have to do this straight away. Within 20 days of establishing residency, you have to register your vehicle.
- You have to submit separate paperwork for special vehicles. Whether you have a custom-built car or an off-highway vehicle, they are subject to different fees based on the kind of vehicle.
- You need to have valid car insurance. For your car to get registered in California, you need to have coverage. So, if you’re planning to buy a vehicle once you’re settled, get in touch with us here at Nation Quote so we can find the right California Automobile Insurance Company that can provide the coverage you need.
- You need to have your car undergo smog inspection. This isn’t just something you neglect, because it is required by the California DMW before you can register your vehicle.
Vehicle Insurance Information You Need to Know
Since you’re new to the state, here are some changes regarding vehicle liability insurance that you need to know:
- As of January 1, 2006, every California automobile insurance company is required to report insurance status information to DMV for private-use vehicles.
- As of July 1, 2006, DMV records will be accessible by law enforcement and court personnel to ensure that your California-registered vehicle is insured.
- Effective October 1, 2006, if your liability insurance is canceled, your vehicle registration is subject to suspension. This also applies when you’re insurance company does not provide electronic evidence when you purchase and register your vehicle. Lastly, this is applicable when you provide the DMV with false information.
So, if you’re moving to California with a vehicle, keep the information here presented in mind. On the other hand, if you’re looking for car coverage, we here at Nation Quote can help make the finding process a lot easier for you. With our help, you get exactly the coverage you need.